FANDOM


Hands and Coffers

I really really don't want people changing this information, so I'm going to lay out what is known, and why I (and the other admins) take this stance regarding the connection between the Hands quest and obtaining your coffer AF pieces.

Our little taru admin, Nynaeve, has experience proof of the connection, and I will lay it out here for all to see. She is a natural WHM and has leveled not one, but two WHMs past 60 (one hume, now her taru as well). The second time around, she was able to complete her starting AF quests (Messenger from Beyond, Prelude of Black and White, and Pieuje's Decision; aka AF1, AF2 and AF3). She then obtained an appropriate coffer key, went to open one of her coffers, and got nothing. To her dismay, she realized she hadn't activated the hands quest yet. She activated it, obtained another key, and successfully obtained her coffer at that point. This was before she had "finished" the hands quest by defeating Dark Spark and obtaining her hands, so the completion of the hands quest is not necessary, only the activation.

To keep as much information on the individual coffer AF pages without flooding it, we merely put the quest the coffer pieces are linked to (Borghertz Somethingsomething Hands), and the coffer you get it from in parenthesis. Changing this information to just the coffer (without discussing it) will result in immediate reversion of your edit. If you have convincing contradicting information regarding this, I'm willing to listen, but unless that happens, I consider this case closed. Thank you for understanding. --Chrisjander 21:16, 24 January 2007 (EST)

Everything he says is true. Stop trying to say it needs to be proven - it doesn't - topic ended. --Nynaeve 22:18, 24 January 2007 (EST)

Um, I thought that was common knowledge. I've always known you need to start the Hands quest to get any of the coffers. It always drives me nuts when people contradict common knowledge. Please don't make us reinvent the wheel on this stuff. --Mierin 22:29, 24 January 2007 (EST)
Amen. --Nynaeve 23:51, 24 January 2007 (EST)
I got a message on my talk page about it, and I've gotten sick of it, so I figured I'd spell it out for people. Now I won't have to regurgitate it every time, and I can just point them to here for an explanation. --Chrisjander 00:33, 25 January 2007 (EST)

Well, my experience is different from the account above.

I completed the WHM AF2 quest, then got the pants from the CN coffer on May 18, 2005, then got myself a Beadeaux key, and started the gloves quest on June 2, 2005. I tried to get the pants first specifically to test this theory, and commented to my LS after opening the coffer that starting the gloves quest was not necessary. --Valyana 00:33, 4 April 2007 (EDT)

Your experience is dated, almost over two years old. The above account is significantly more recent, as her second WHM didn't start AF until at least sometime late 2006. That being said, additional testing can always be done, but until a more recent test is performed, we will stick with established knowledge. --Chrisjander 11:38, 4 April 2007 (EDT)


Is it worth adding that you don't have to be level 50 to obtain your coffer pieces that are after the hands? I got thief to 50 this week and decided to get all the pieces to store them with the npc. I deleveled to 49 while trying to get the body piece and couldn't find any info whether I could still get it. I tried anyway and got it. --Sidmow 19:08, 21 May 2007 (CDT)

If you de-level while already on the quest, you can still get any of the pieces. You just need to have started/obtained the first questable piece. --CharitwoTalk 19:10, 21 May 2007 (CDT)

Hello everyone, the Coffer/Hands info is incorrect. My Summoner has Evoker's Spats (AF2), Horn (AF3), and Pigaches (Toraimarai Canal Coffer) without ever starting (or completing) the Borghertz's Calling Hands quest. I have completed the hands quest on my WHM and RDM. I can also confirm getting RDM AF coffer parts without having started the hands quest yet.

Further proof: On an entirely different account, my girlfriend's Samurai was able to obtain the Myochin Haidate (Quicksand Coffer) without even completing AF2 (she's fought the Onzozo bird but not the second fight), let alone ANY of the Borghertz's hands quests. I would be happy to provide screenshots of both her quest completed/current logs and me actually obtaining the leggings from the coffer (just tell me where to upload them). Her SAM was 65 at the time. (We figured the worst that could happen, we get the AF. We were trying for the map.) --freazer 10:16, 3 June, 2007 (EST)


OK, I just got WAR to 50 and tried it again. As before, I did AF2 and then opened the Crawler's Nest coffer and got the Mask without ever starting the hands quest. Perhaps you can get coffer AF after starting ANY hands quest, so it's only necessary for your first job to 50? --Valyana 23:52, 17 June 2007 (CDT)


First off, sorry if I mess up format(first time in a talk page) but I'm a firm believe of POIDH, so here are pics to prove that I'm right, and you're wrong.

Let's start here: http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v655/julianpics/img_20070730_112651.jpg

This is me completing RDM AF1 for the first time ever.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v655/julianpics/img_20070730_113045.jpg

This is me opening my AF2 quest, I didn't go any bit further into the quest at all.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v655/julianpics/img_20070730_121739.jpg

AF body from a coffer get! Sorry for the blacked out, someone decided to make fun of some LS, so I decided to leave the drama out. (If anyone really wants, I can supply the original privately)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v655/julianpics/img_20070730_122131.jpg

And finally, I open the AF hands quest.

Now, we have picture proof that the only requirement is the opening of the AF2 quest, as well as a few no-picture reports, against your single no-picture report of the glove quest being required. Therefore, AF gloves have nothing to do with the AF coffers. If you'd like to further press this on, I suggest you get some good pictures.  ;) (I can be found in the BG forums under the same name)

Good day. --Julian 11:15, 30 July 2007 (CDT)


Resolution: I thought this issue was settled, but obviously people are still confused. I will fix main page to reflect what I am going to put here.

  1. If you are on your first job, you must activate the Hands quest before you can get any AF from coffers.
  2. If you are on you second job, and you have already started and/or completed the Hands quest on a different first job, then you only need to begin AF2 quest.

The key is, at some point, you had to have the Galka tell you about other AF. Even if it was a previous job. --User:Mierin/Sig 11:36, 30 July 2007 (CDT)

Not so fast

Hi, I'm sorry it took me this long, trying to persuade new accounts to help out in the name of science isn't very easy.

Anyway, I'll just leave this here, ignore the .txt files:

http://juliandev.com/juneupdate/

Would you people fix all of your pages now? Also, I'll be waiting for my apology. Thanks! JulianBG 04:07, August 25, 2010 (UTC)

Dancer/Scholar Artifact Armor

Why are there no Armor Set pages for Dancer or Scholar? Really inconvenient don't you think? Hope someone will please remedy or if they already exist point me in the right directions because I couldn't find them. --Birgitte t/ c 18:20, 11 March 2008 (UTC)

I saw them, or at least one of them, somewhere...in this flood of edits, try checking Special:Newpages. --CharitwoTalk 01:03, 12 March 2008 (UTC)

Repeating AF Quests

This passage in the article is unclear. It says you do not have to discard your AF, but then says you do either have to discard or store them (which also doesn't make sense, unless you can have more than one rare/ex item if one is stored?).

If you need to re-acquire a piece you threw away or upgraded to Artifact Armor +1, you can repeat the artifact quests by talking to Vingijard in Lower Jeuno. You do not need to discard your other AF first. You may reset the quests and start them again, even if you still have all of your original AF. But you will need to either discard your af set or bank it at an af vendor.

Which is true? Also, how does this affect AF from coffers? --Karl1982 04:55, 23 April 2008 (UTC)

I think it's supposed to be something like "You will be unable to obtain the AF piece if it is currently in your posession, you will have to drop or store it first.". --Josephpate 04:58, November 29, 2009 (UTC)


For Rare/Ex items, they check your mog safe, locker, satchel, storage, the stuff you can access, the vendor thing is turning in a full set to get a clain slip back, which goes in key items, those are not checked if you are going after more then one of the same piece. The quote is talking about redoing one piece, if you upgraded a single piece or need to get it again for some reason, you can throw away just that one item and go and get it again without discarding all of the other pieces of that af set. The resetting quests lets you go and repeat all of the af quests, which is used for reaquiring items when you toss a set, but to actually complete the quests you have to turn your items you have into an af vendor or throw them out. Wolf Valheru 07:42, December 9, 2009 (UTC)

Categories

Finally finished adding Category:Artifact Armor to all Artifact armor, including Klimaform, as even though it is a spell, it is still Scholars Artifact Weapon. None of the dancer AF had it on their page, and a user's sandbox had it linking to here somehow, so removed that as well :S Myzou 13:28, 19 June 2008 (UTC)

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.